Bulky South African makes Ireland RWC squad ahead of stalwart Devin Toner

first_imgMonday Sep 2, 2019 Bulky South African makes Ireland RWC squad ahead of stalwart Devin Toner The stand out omission from today’s 31-man Ireland Rugby World Cup squad is Devin Toner, the 33-year-old stalwart that most fans would have fully expected to get on that plane to Japan. Instead, residency qualified Munster lock Jean Kleyn is preferred by coach Joe Schmidt. ADVERTISEMENTRory Best, set to play in his impressive fourth world cup, will captain the squad.Six of the squad named featured at the previous two Rugby World Cups (2011 & 2015) – Sean Cronin, Keith Earls, Cian Healy, Rob Kearney, Conor Murray and Johnny Sexton, while a further five played in the 2015 tournament – Tadhg Furlong, Iain Henderson, Robbie Henshaw, Peter O’Mahony and Rhys Ruddock.The remaining 19 players will be making their Rugby World Cup debuts.Kleyn, who recently qualified on residency after joining Munster in 2016, made his debut against Italy and was then retained against England. His bulk and power up front is the main reason for his selection ahead of Toner, who has played in 50 of Schmidt’s 67 Tests in charge.“I’ve coached for ten years. He’s an absolutely quality person. That was an incredibly tough conversation yesterday,” said Schmidt.ADVERTISEMENTIreland are in Pool A and will play Scotland, Japan, Russia and Samoa.Ireland’s opening fixture is against Scotland at the Yokohama Stadium in Tokyo. Six days later Ireland will take on tournament hosts Japan in Shizuoka before playing Russia in Kobe the following Thursday. Ireland’s final pool game is against Samoa on Saturday 12thin Fukuoka.Ireland Rugby World Cup Fixtures 2019IRELAND v ScotlandYokohama Stadium, Sunday 22nd September, 2019 KO: 08.45 (Irish Time)IRELAND v JapanShizuoka Stadium Ecopa, Saturday 28th September, 2019 KO: 08.15 (Irish Time)IRELAND v RussiaMisaki Stadium, Thursday 3rd October, 2019 KO: 11.15 (Irish Time)ADVERTISEMENTIRELAND v SamoaFukuoka Hakatanomi Stadium, Saturday 12th October, 2019 KO: 11.45 (Irish Time)Ireland RWC19 SquadForwards (17)Rory Best, CAPTAIN, Tadhg Beirne, Jack Conan, Sean Cronin, Tadhg Furlong, Cian Healy, Dave Kilcoyne, Iain Henderson, Jean Kleyn, Peter O’Mahony, Andrew Porter, Rhys Ruddock, James  Ryan, John Ryan, Niall Scannell, CJ Stander, Josh van der FlierBacks (14)Bundee Aki, Joey Carbery, Jack Carty, Andrew Conway, Keith Earls, Chris Farrell, Robbie Henshaw, Rob Kearney, Jordan Larmour, Luke McGrath, Conor Murray, Garry Ringrose, Jonathan Sexton, Jacob Stockdale Posted By: rugbydump Share Send Thanks Sorry there has been an error News Related Articles 25 WEEKS AGO Exeter vs Toulouse is off as a number of… 25 WEEKS AGO Danny Cipriani leaves Gloucester with immediate… 25 WEEKS AGO ‘Aphiwe can’t believe it. We were starting… From the WebThis Video Will Soon Be Banned. Watch Before It’s DeletedSecrets RevealedYou Won’t Believe What the World’s Most Beautiful Girl Looks Like TodayNueeyUrologists Stunned: Forget the Blue Pill, This “Fixes” Your EDSmart Life ReportsDoctors Stunned: This Removes Wrinkles Like Crazy! (Try Tonight)Smart Life ReportsIf You Have Ringing Ears Do This Immediately (Ends Tinnitus)Healthier Living30+ Everyday Items with a Secret Hidden PurposeNueeyThe content you see here is paid for by the advertiser or content provider whose link you click on, and is recommended to you by Revcontent. As the leading platform for native advertising and content recommendation, Revcontent uses interest based targeting to select content that we think will be of particular interest to you. We encourage you to view your opt out options in Revcontent’s Privacy PolicyWant your content to appear on sites like this?Increase Your Engagement Now!Want to report this publisher’s content as misinformation?Submit a ReportGot it, thanks!Remove Content Link?Please choose a reason below:Fake NewsMisleadingNot InterestedOffensiveRepetitiveSubmitCancellast_img

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *