Long-service awards for Limerick fire fighters

first_imgWhatsApp Advertisement NewsLocal NewsLong-service awards for Limerick fire fightersBy admin – November 23, 2012 417 Twitter Email Previous articleThief not getting the messageNext articleFare dodger avoids prison admincenter_img Linkedin WITH 170 years service between them, eight Limerick based Fire and Rescue Service personnel were honoured at the recent National Long Service awards ceremony.Having served 30 years fighting fires and providing emergency services to the public of Rathkeale, Edmond Dollery, was honoured at the ceremony along with seven other members who clocked up 20 years in the service. Limerick County Chief Fire Officer Carmel Kirby and Limerick City Chief Fire Officer Michael Ryan, as well as Des Normoyle (Newcastle West Station Officer), Denis Joy (Abbeyfeale Station Officer), John O’Connell (Driver Mechanic, Cappamore), and John Denning (Sub Officer) and Paul Knapp (Firefighter) of Limerick City Fire Service were all credited with the long service awards.Sign up for the weekly Limerick Post newsletter Sign Up Minister of State Fergal O’Dowd said that the scheme was the State’s way of honouring local authority fire service personnel for “being there over all the years, for being prepared to respond to calls for help, at all times, and in all weathers.”Limerick County Chief Fire Officer Carmel Kirby said the Fire and Rescue Service had a proud tradition of service to the people of Limerick and continuous training was required to ensure the Service responded to emergencies with maximum efficiency.Congratulating the recipients of awards, Limerick City Chief Fire Officer Michael Ryan said the commitment and professionalism of the long serving fire fighters was indicative of the highly experienced personnel employed by the Fire Service in Limerick and around the country. Print Facebooklast_img read more