Virat Kohli named T20 Player of the Year

first_imgRoyal Challengers Bangalore skipper Virat Kohli, who had smashed batting records in the recently concluded Indian Premier League season, was named the Ceat T20 Player of the Year while former India captain Dilip Vengsarkar was conferred with the Lifetime Achievement Award at a function attended by several past and present players in Mumbai on Monday. (Also read: Loved the IPL journey this year, says Virat Kohli) England batsman Joe Root was named as the Ceat International Cricketer of the Year as well as International Batsman of the Year. (Also read: Rohit Sharma eager to help India regain top spot in Test cricket) India offspinner Ravichandran Ashwin won the Ceat International Bowler of the Year award while Rohit Sharma was named as the Indian Cricketer of the Year. (Also read: Did Gautam Gambhir just call Virat Kohli a bad guy?)Kohli has been in the form of his life in the shortest format recently as he was named as Player-of-the-Tournament in the World T20 held in India earlier this year and won the orange cap for amassing 973 runs in 16 matches in the IPL, where he was also named Most Valuable Player.60-year-old Vengsarkar had amassed 6868 runs in 116 Tests with 17 hundreds to boot, including a hat-trick of tons in successive Test appearances at the Lord’s cricket ground in England. Vengsarkar was also part of the 1983 World Cup-winning Indian team.WINNERS LIST Lifetime Achievement Award: Dilip VengsarkarInternational Cricketer of the Year: Joe RootInternational Batsman of the Year: Joe RootInternational Bowler of the Year: Ravichandran AshwinTest Cricketer of the Year: Kane WilliamsonODI Cricketer of the Year: Martin GuptillT20 Player of the Year: Virat KohliIndian Cricketer of the Year: Rohit SharmaDomestic Cricketer of the Year: Shreyas IyerYoung Player of the Year: Rishabh PantSpecial Award: Ajinkya Rahane advertisementlast_img read more